November 21, 2017, 05:55:28 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Your new home for car and truck enthusiast to share, learn, and brag.

RamCharger.net



Author Topic: Gauge cluster  (Read 1192 times)

Offline ry31982

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Gauge cluster
« on: March 11, 2015, 05:33:18 pm »
My 1991 RC needs a cluster, I have bought 2 so far with no luck of them fitting.

What can I pull a cluster from and plug in mine?

Offline SixGun

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,206
  • Karma: +15/-1
  • 2WD Trail Dog
    • View Profile
Re: Gauge cluster
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2015, 05:39:42 pm »
Where are you located?
"You may all go to Hell and I will go to Texas" - Davy Crocket

Offline ry31982

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Gauge cluster
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2015, 05:47:26 pm »
Nacogdoches

Offline ry31982

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Gauge cluster
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2015, 05:48:13 pm »
getting some feedback from RCC.

Offline SixGun

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,206
  • Karma: +15/-1
  • 2WD Trail Dog
    • View Profile
Re: Gauge cluster
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2015, 05:57:00 pm »
I saw your thread on RCC and that you have an actual speedometer cable on a 91. 

You need the vehicle speed sensor located on the tranny  for the 91 gauge to work.

https://www.rockauto.com/catalog/moreinfo.php?pk=2415544&cc=1097175&jnid=458&jpid=0
"You may all go to Hell and I will go to Texas" - Davy Crocket

Offline rjtx667

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,590
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Gauge cluster
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2015, 09:48:37 pm »
a speedo cable on a 91? that must be a way early 91?

I have a 91 and it did not have a speedo cable. well let me rephrase that I have a 91 and owned a different 91 and neither had a speedo cable. I had a friend with a 90, but never got into his dash to see if he had a cable or not.

Yours still has the TBI right?
1935 Dodge KC Truck
1991 &1993 RamCharger
2000 RamCharger
2005 Cummins

Offline SixGun

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,206
  • Karma: +15/-1
  • 2WD Trail Dog
    • View Profile
Re: Gauge cluster
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2015, 09:56:20 pm »
Here's his thread from RCC.  Somehow, he got an earlier model dash with speedo cable in his 91.  He bought a 91 dash but the speedo still doesnt work. I figure it probably doesnt have the vss or its not plugged in.

http://ramchargercentral.com/vehicle-help/91-rc-gauge-cluster-issues/
« Last Edit: March 11, 2015, 09:59:31 pm by SixGun »
"You may all go to Hell and I will go to Texas" - Davy Crocket

Offline ProjectPW

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Gauge cluster
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2015, 09:07:24 am »
Get an 81-89 cluster ... problem solved  :great:
1979 W150 "TOP HAND", and way to many other mopars!

Offline SixGun

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,206
  • Karma: +15/-1
  • 2WD Trail Dog
    • View Profile
Re: Gauge cluster
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2015, 10:10:22 am »
Has the speedo ever worked with that setup. Could be the gauge or the cable.
"You may all go to Hell and I will go to Texas" - Davy Crocket

 

SMF 2.0.11 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Page created in 0.163 seconds with 15 queries.